Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Milledgeville mayor running unopposed

Posted in:

Council members to face new challengers

  • Article Image Alt Text
    Mary Parham-Copelan

Milledgeville Mayor Mary Parham-Copelan is officially running unopposed for the upcoming mayoral election. Copelan is the first female African-American mayor and won the last mayoral election by just six votes.

Copelan shared the news with her supporters on a recent Facebook post.

“Our qualifying period is over, and I want to say thank you God, and thank all of you for allowing me to be unopposed for the Mayor’s seat for the next four-year term, 2022- 2026. Our Council members, Attorneys, City Manager, and Staff are ready to build Milledgeville like never before,” said Copelan.

Although Parham has a clear path towards victory, some council members will have to defend their seats this upcoming election.

In District 1, incumbent Collinda Lee will face challenger and Black Lives Matter activist Torrie Stewart. Stewart organized several protests last year to oppose police brutality after the murder of George Floyd and the shooting of Breonna Taylor.

District 5 incumbent Richard “Boo” Mullins will face off against challenger Jessica McQuain. Mullins has served four terms with the Milledgeville City Council. McQuain is a Heard Country native and is an active member of the NAACP and the Free Fridge Milly Inactive. McQuain is also a Georgia College graduate who works as a field organizer for the Georgia College chapter of the United Campus Workers of Georgia.

In District 6, incumbent Steve Chambers will face off against challenger Daisy Childs. Chambers has been a member of the Milledgeville City Council since 2016. At this time, not much is known about challenger Daisy Childs.

Incumbents Jeanette Walden (District 2), Denese Shinholster (district 3), and Walter Reynolds (District 4) are all running unopposed. Elections will be held Nov. 2, 2021.